AIChE Spring Meeting and 17th Global Congress on Process Safety

American Institute of Chemical Engineers
April 18–23, 2021

The American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) will host their Spring Meeting and 17th Global Congress on Process Safety (GCPS) virtually on April 18–23, 2021. Securing the future through chemical engineering & process safety innovations, the AIChE Spring Meeting is a key technical conference for practicing chemical engineers. A wide range of subjects relevant to the current needs of industry will be covered. Plus, the GCPS covers the critical needs of process safety practitioners more broadly and deeply than any other conference. Attendees of this virtual experience will have the opportunity to enhance career development, accelerate professional growth, and participate in significant programming, while networking with peers.

Eighteen Exponent professionals from our Thermal and Data Sciences practices have contributed their expertise to the technical program. Exponent staff members are presenting papers and posters as well as chairing technical sessions spanning topics including fire and explosion investigation and consequence analyses, LNG and hydrogen safety, fuel chemistry, and process safety management.

Presentations

Tuesday, April 20

11:30 AM PT/1:30 PM CT: Flame Arrestor Failures in Industrial Equipment and Consumer Products – Michael Stern, Ph.D., P.E., CFEI, Francesco Colella, Ph.D., P.E., CFEI, Alfonso F. Ibarreta, Ph.D., P.E., CFEI, Delmar R. "Trey" Morrison, III, Ph.D., P.E., CCPSC, CFEI, Timothy J. Myers, Ph.D., P.E., CFEI, and Claudio V.B. Favero, Ph.D. – A review of relevant concepts and standards for the design and testing of flame arresters and FMDs highlighted by a series of case studies of observed failures or potential failure scenarios.

11:30 AM PT/1:30 PM CT: Stability of Asphaltenes in Oils and Fuels – Claudio V.B. Favero, Ph.D. – This presentation discusses the cases and mechanism of fouling caused by asphaltenes from fuels and oils in pipelines, production equipment, machinery, and engines.

11:50 AM PT/1:50PM CT: How to Leverage Attorney-Client Privilege for Effective Incident Investigations – Matthew S. Walters, Ph.D., P.E., CFEI, Sean J. Dee, Ph.D., P.E., CFEI, and Russell A. Ogle, Ph.D., P.E., CSP, CFEI, FAIChE – This paper discusses good practices for incorporating attorney-client privilege guidelines into a facility’s incident investigation management system, including issues related to witness management, evidence preservation, building an investigation team, and information sharing.

Wednesday, April 21

9:20 AM PT/11:20AM CT: Minimizing Risk of Unit Trains of Hazmat – Jessica M. Morris, Ph.D., Delmar R. "Trey" Morrison, III, Ph.D., P.E., CCPSC, CFEI, Sisi Song, Ph.D., Enakshi D. Wikramanayake, Ph.D., and Ryan J. Hart, Ph.D., P.E. – With DOT 113 class tank rail cars now allowed to transport LNG, a risk-based analysis was performed on LNG tank cars and unit trains to characterize the risk of large LNG shipments via rail in DOT 113s and T75 ISO containers.

11:30 AM PT/1:30 PM CT: Writing in the Margins: Considerations for Safe Operating Limits – Sean J. Dee, Ph.D., P.E., CFEI, Matthew S. Walters, Ph.D., P.E., CFEI, and Russell A. Ogle, Ph.D., P.E., CSP, CFEI, FAIChE – This presentation reviews guidance for understanding and setting safe operating limits, discusses good practices for communicating those safe operating limits to operational staff, and presents a case study to illustrate the methods that can be used to determine the safe operating limits for a system.

Thursday, April 22

9:40 AM PT/11:40 AM CT: Got Dust?: Performing a Dust Hazard Analysis (DHA) – Timothy J. Myers, Ph.D., P.E., CFEI, and Alfonso F. Ibarreta, Ph.D., P.E., CFEI – We will present an introductory tutorial on performing a dust hazard analysis (DHA) in a facility handling combustible dusts or powders.

1:20 PM PT/3:20 PM CT: What Is the Safest Hazard Assessment Approach for Distances to Storage Tanks? – Jessica M. Morris, Ph.D., Ryan J. Hart, Ph.D., P.E., Navid Zanganeh, Ph.D., and Delmar R. "Trey" Morrison, III, Ph.D., P.E., CCPSC, CFEI – This presentation will analyze the different hazard assessment methods (spacing tables, consequence-based approach, and risk-based approach) to compare and contrast appropriate distances to LNG storage tanks since tank failure data is not as prevalent as other plant asset failure data.

1:40 PM PT/3:40 PM CT: Taking Action on Your DHA Action Items – Brenton L. Cox, Ph.D., P.E., CFEI, Matthew S. Walters, Ph.D., P.E., CFEI, Sean J. Dee, Ph.D., P.E., CFEI, and Russell A. Ogle, Ph.D., P.E., CSP, CFEI, FAIChE – This presentation in the Plant and Process Safety Symposium (PPSS) provides a comparative discussion of guidance from the NFPA and the CCPS to define a risk-based framework for the resolution of DHA recommendations, with particular attention paid to those recommendations associated with equipment design and management systems.

Friday, April 23

7:30 AM PT/9:30 AM CT: It Was a Dark and Stormy Night – Investigation of Acrylate Storage Tank Explosions – Delmar R. "Trey" Morrison, III, Ph.D., P.E., CCPSC, CFEI – This presentation in the Case Studies & Lessons Learned session will discuss the investigation of a lightning strike and the explosion of two aboveground storage tanks despite proper grounding.

Poster Session

Wednesday, April 21

1:00 PM PT/3:00 PM CT: Transitioning from One Explosive Fuel to the Next – Safety Considerations in the Emerging Hydrogen Economy – Taylor P. Sulmonetti, Ph.D., Christopher S. Buehler, Ph.D., P.E., Achim Wechsung, Ph.D., CFEI, and Sean J. Dee, Ph.D., P.E., CFEI – With both the current and future interest in utilizing hydrogen, it is crucial to evaluate and mitigate the fire and explosion risks posed by hydrogen during storage and transfer; therefore, we will discuss the properties and best practices of hydrogen usage.

Professionals