International Oil Spill Conference

May 10–14, 2021

The International Oil Spill Conference (IOSC) will take place virtually on May 10–14, 2021. This conference provides a forum for professionals from the international spill response community, private sector, government, and non-governmental organizations to come together to tackle the greatest challenges facing us with sound science, practical innovation, social engineering, global research, and imagination. Attendees will have the opportunity to learn about the most innovative technological trends and regulatory issues that will drive the future of oil spill response. Additionally, dedicated networking breaks will give attendees the opportunity to expand their professional network and connect with others in attendance.

Paul D. Boehm, Ph.D., Exponent corporate vice president and principal scientist, will present “The Oil Spill Science Triad: Coexistence and Optimization of Models, Laboratory Tests, and Empirical Field Observations and Data for Natural Resource Damage Assessments,” co-authored by Robert I. Haddad, Ph.D., Exponent group vice president and principal scientist, on Monday, May 10, at 10:45 AM PT/1:45 PM ET. This presentation is part of the Natural Resource Damage Assessment session.

Zachary C. Owens, Ph.D., P.E., Exponent senior managing engineer, will present “Subsea Mechanical Dispersion (SSMD) a Possible New Option for the Oil Spill Response Toolbox?,” co-authored by Lindsey Gilman, Ph.D., P.E., CFEI, Exponent managing engineer, on Wednesday, May 12, at 8:15 AM PT/11:15 AM ET. This presentation is part of the Making Science Operational session.

Brian D. Drollette, Ph.D., Exponent managing scientist, will present a poster titled “A Data-Driven Framework for Defining Stages of Oil Weathering,” co-authored by Linda L. Cook, M.S., Exponent managing scientist, Paul D. Boehm, Ph.D., Exponent corporate vice president and principal scientist, and Laurie D. Benton, Ph.D., L.G., Exponent managing scientist, on Friday, May 14, at 6:00 AM PT/9:00 AM ET.

Lindsey Gilman, Ph.D., P.E., CFEI, Exponent managing engineer, will present a poster titled “Evaluation and Comparison of Current Emulsification Algorithms and Their Sensitivity in Oil Spill Modeling Software,” co-authored by Brian D. Drollette, Ph.D., Exponent managing scientist, and Karen J. Murray, Ph.D., Exponent managing scientist, on Friday, May 14, at 6:00 AM PT/9:00 AM ET.

Linda L. Cook, M.S., Exponent managing scientist, and Laurie D. Benton, Ph.D., L.G., Exponent managing scientist, will present “Beyond Data Validation - Advanced Strategies for Assessing Data Quality for Oil Spill Investigations” on Friday, May 14, at 10:45 AM PT/1:45 PM ET. This presentation is part of the Best Practices in Support Functions session.

Exponent is a proud sponsor of the 2021 International Oil Spill Conference (IOSC).

For more information, click here.

Professionals