Academic Credentials
  • Ph.D., Metallurgical Engineering, Ohio State University, Columbus, 1968
  • B.S., Metallurgy, Penn State University, 1964
Academic Appointments
  • MIT, Professor Emeritus of Materials Science and Engineering and of Nuclear Engineering
  • MIT, Director Emeritus of the H.H. Uhlig Corrosion Laboratory
  • Purdue University, Industrial Engineering Department - Disruptive Plastic Flow in Metals by Adsorbed Monolayers, Advisor
Professional Honors
  • 2015 Lee Hsun Award of the Chinese Academy of Sciences
  • 2014 Hosler Alumni Scholar Medalist, College of Earth & Mineral Sciences, Penn State University
  • 2014 Lattman Visiting Scholar, College of Earth & Mineral Sciences, Penn State University
  • Chemist of the Year for 2007, New England Institute of Chemists
  • 2004 Henry B. Linford Award, Electrochemical Society
  • 2004 Best Paper of the Year in "Metals and Materials International," Korean Institute for Metals and Machinery
  • 2001 T.P. Hoar Award, British Institute of Corrosion
  • NACE Fellow Award, NACE International, 1995
  • Willis Rodney Whitney Award, NACE International, 1994
  • Fellow, ASM International, 1988
  • Member—National Academy of Engineering, 1985
  • Shell Distinguished Professor of Materials Science, 1983-1988
  • Senior U.S. Scientist Award for Research and Teaching, the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation
  • Federal Republic of Germany, 1974
  • A.B. Campbell Young Author's Award for 1972, National Association of Corrosion Engineers
  • Election to various Honorary Fraternities including Phi Eta Sigma, Tau Beta Pi, Sigma Tau, Phi Kappa Phi, Sigma Gamma Epsilon, Alpha Sigma Mu
Professional Affiliations
  • American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical and Petroleum Engineers
    • Member, TMS-Committee on Chemistry and Physics of Metals, 1972-1983
    • Member, Executive Committee Boston Section of AIME, 1976-1980
    • Member, TMS Committee on Corrosion Resistant Metals, 1976-
    • Member, Continuing Education Committee, 1980-1986
    • Member, TMS Acta Metallurgica Gold Medal and Hume-Rothery Award Subcommittee, 1983-
    • Member, Long Range Planning Committee, 1987-
  • American Society for Metals
    • Member, Oxidation and Corrosion Activity, 1976-
    • Member, Government and Public Affairs Committee 1984-
    • Awards Chairman, Boston Chapter of ASM, 1984-1986
    • 1985 National Nominating Committee, ASM
    • World Materials Congress 1988, Organizing Committee
    National Association of Corrosion Engineers
    • Member, Governmental Affairs Committee, 1983-1986
    • Member, Research Committee, 1974-1983
    • Co-Editor, "Corrosion Research in Progress" Column, CORROSION Journal, 1973-1976
    • Chairman, Awards Committee, 1990-1991
    • Director, Ex Officio, 1990-1991
    • Electric Power Research Institute
    • Member, Corrosion Advisory Committee, 1978-1981
    American Society for Testing and Materials
    • Member, Committee G-2 on Erosion and Wear, 1972-1983
    The Electrochemical Society
    • Active Member
    Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
    • Member, Committee on U.S. Competitiveness, 1987-
    US/USSR Agreement for Cooperation in Science and Technology: Corrosion Working Group
    • Project Coordinator, Mechanical-Chemical and Localized Corrosion Processes, 1978-1981

Prior to joining Exponent, Dr. Latanision was the Director of The H.H. Uhlig Corrosion Laboratory in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at M.I.T., and held joint faculty appointments in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering and in the Department of Nuclear Engineering. He led the School of Engineering's Materials Processing Center at MIT as its Director from 1985 to 1991. He is now an Emeritus Professor at MIT. 

In April 2015, Dr. Latanision was appointed an Adjunct Professor in the Key Laboratory of Nuclear Materials and Safety Assessment of the Institute of Metal Research of The Chinese Academy of Sciences. In addition, he is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and a Fellow of ASM International, NACE International, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

From 1983 — 1988, Dr. Latanision was the first holder of the Shell Distinguished Chair in Materials Science. He hosted the annual Siemens Science and Technology Competition on the MIT campus for more than ten years. Dr. Latanision was a founder of Altran Materials Engineering Corporation, established in 1992.

Dr. Latanision's research interests are focused largely in the areas of materials processing and in the corrosion of metals and other materials in aqueous (ambient as well as high temperature and pressure) environments. He specializes in corrosion science and engineering with particular emphasis on materials selection for contemporary and advanced engineering systems and in failure analysis. His expertise extends to electrochemical systems and processing technologies, ranging from fuel cells and batteries to supercritical water power generation and waste destruction. Dr. Latanision's research interests include stress corrosion cracking and hydrogen embrittlement of metals and alloys, water and ionic permeation through thin polymer films, photoelectrochemistry, and the study of aging phenomena/life prediction in engineering materials and systems. Dr. Latanision is a member of the International Corrosion Council and serves as Co-Editor-in-Chief of Corrosion Reviews, with Professor Noam Eliaz of Tel-Aviv University. He is Editor-in-Chief of the NAE Quarterly, The Bridge.

Dr. Latanision has served as a science advisor to the U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Science and Technology in Washington, D.C. He has also served as a member of the Advisory Committee to the Massachusetts Office of Science and Technology, an executive branch office created to strengthen the Commonwealth's science and technology infrastructure with emphasis directed toward future economic growth. Dr. Latanision has served as a member of the National Materials Advisory Board of the National Research Council and now serves as a member of the NRC's Standing Committee on Chemical Demilitarization. In June of 2002, Dr. Latanision was appointed by President George W. Bush to membership on the U.S. Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board, and was reappointed for a second four-year term by President Barack Obama.